Peak-a-Blather

MeThere are too many things going on all at once. I’m trying to launch my creative website, 10 ideas in 10 minutes, but i keep procrastinating. I have written down all the elements I want to roll out and capture, and have started writing the outline for a book. Ha. I’m still stuck on the logo, so don’t expect anything for a few weeks.

Then I’m also trying to launch a creative blog/wiki for work, which shall remain a secret until such time as I get clearance from HR.

I’m beta testing a few things: Flock, a new social browser that tries to integrate blogging, social bookmarking, and other things. I like the way I can drag a photo from Flickr right into my blog post. That’s pretty cool. But so far it doesn’t support my WordPress blogs because they don’t have an API yet. Unless…

Unless you are using the new free WordPress.com blogs. WordPress has started to roll out their own version of Blogger.com. They will host your blog for you. I just received my invite to test this out as well. Great. More blogs. I was trying to ween myself off of a few, and now I’m back up to 6 or 7 and diluting my time again.

I spent about an hour drooling over Aperture, the new photo management application from Apple. The only problem is I need to buy a new computer to meet the minimum requirements. It’s tempting. But I’ll wait until the Intel Macs come out before I buy something. Except for…

Except for the new iPod with video support. Everyone I talk to seems to think there’s no content out there. I don’t know what they’re smoking because my harddrive is almost full of video crap. Rocketboom. Diggnation. Del.icio.us rss channels. This Week in Tech. Systm. Command N. I’ll admit that most of them are a bit tech/geek oriented. But I’d love to watch them on the GO Train on my way to and from work. Plus I could carry them around like a little portable Tivo, and plug them into any TV. Sounds good in theory. I’d like to test it out. Plus I make my own movies. And a few commercials. And it would be fun to have them in my pocket.

Need to make more movies about the kids. Almost canned Madeleine and the Frog, which I’d like to submit to either PBS Kids, or perhaps even Al Gore’s Current TV. Baz needs a movie made of him gearing up for the Jolly Jumper or something just to make it fair.

I’ve signed up for NaNoWriMo, which means I have to write at least 50,000 words of a novel during the month of November. Jesus help me. I’m trying to think of titles, which I will then post as a 10 ideas in 10 minutes thing.

And that’s just the start of it. Did I mention I also have a full time job as an Associate Creative Director for an interactive ad agency? I like the little Ass. in front of my title. Nobody knows what Associate really means, but when you shorten it to ‘Ass’ people suddenly take notice: “Yeah, hi, I’m the Ass Creative Director.” A few puzzled looks and then people shake it off and figure they must have missheard me.

I also want to create a record for babies called the White Noise Album. More on that later.

Oh, and I’ve called my brother to ask him if I can manage his Art career, like Vincent and Theo, except without the cutting off the ear and going insane part. Mike (my brother) is a teacher, but he’s a fantastic artists and needs to get his work ‘out there’. How the hell I can help him remains to be seen.

I am reading approximately 7 books.

Did i mention the games I want to develop? One involved dominoes and plasticine. Another is a gameboard made of cubes that changes every turn. And then there’s the card game to take on Magik and Pokemon, made of robot parts.

I have a line of anti-bush merch I’m hocking. But I hate the print job Cafepress does on shirts, so I’m looking for a better vendor. Also want to branch out and make creative shirts under a line called Clientz™ with lines like, “Make the logo bigger” and “I [heart with a line thru it] whitespace.”

If only I could get by on a few less hours of sleep a night. I still need to work, eat, sleep, hang out with my wife, and play with my kids, fix things around the house, vaccuum, and watch bad movies.

*sigh*

At least i’m not bored.

Leave a Reply

