One Device to Rule Them All: Motorola V635

Motorola V635Instead of getting a new digital camera or an iPod shuffle, I now have a new phone. It plays MP3s, it captures sound, pictures, and video, it IMs, it emails, and… it also works as a phone.

I’m amazed. I have completely changed how I think about capturing moments. I used to lug a huge bag with a Sony digital video camera and a Nikon Coolpix. They capture better images, but they are cumbersome and inconvenient at times, and don’t lend themselves to sponteneity or stealth. With my camera phone, I’m taking video and pictures ALL THE TIME. They’re not professional quality, mind you, but they do archive moments in time.

And I love listening to music on the built-in mp3 player. I don’t have white earbuds, but now I too can apply a soundtrack to my life. There is one improvement Motorola could make to the software: I was filling a low tire at the gas station, listening to the Flaming Lips sing Do You Realize when D called. My hands were dirty and occupied, but luckily I had set my preferences to ‘auto-answer’ in 2 rings when the stereo headphones are jacked in (very cool feature). When the call was over, the phone went silent. I had to re-open the mp3 player, find my song, and start it over again. It does not continue where it left off, but rather dumps out of the application. Hopefully this will be addressed in the near future.

4 Responses

  1. I’m glad the you like your new phone!

    I almost got the RaZR because it was so beautiful and it had almost everything I wanted but one I gave it a test drive I found the product very unintuitive.

    More often with Motorola phones you will have to exit one software to make another work. Also it takes a long time to get use to get around your phone cause they put everything where you don’t expect it to be. I really couldn’t take form over function with them, its really too bad.

    You’d think they could take some pointers with their partners like apple for usability.

    Any who enjoy your new phone! 🙂

  2. hey, check out the iMate Mini Jam. I hot one and using it in T.O on Fido. really great device.

    http://www.imate.com

  3. Hey bri,

    I actually got something similar to that, might even be the same just different skin. I got the Audiovox SMT 5600.

    Audiovox SMT5600

  4. If you use the Sound Player, the one next to the picture viewer and video viewer instead you can hide the player, and receive calls, when you are done it automaticly resumes.

Leave a Reply

